The Big Island

I live on the island of Hawai’i, most simply call it the Big Island.  It’s bigger than all the other Hawai’ian islands combined.  It resembles a mini-continent with such different climates from tropical rainforests to the cold mountain of Mauna Kea.  You can surf, boogieboard, snorkel, paddle board or swim along the shore or out in sea.  If you like golf, there are lots of golf courses for you and your friends to enjoy.  It’s a great time to come to Hawai’i in the winter, Humpback Whales come to Hawai’i to give birth to their calves,  by May they will go back to Alaska.  You can get a better view of the whales by boat or somewhere high along the coast.  In the summer, the water is so clear that you can see all kinds of fishes even without goggles!

Landscapes include one of just about everything: mountains, high sea cliffs, rolling pastures, deserts and rainforests.

My favorite things to do here are at the beach like being pulled on the boogieboard by my father and then sliding along the sand and spinning!  I love to see the green flash right after the sun goes down.  I also love seeing the humpback whales spouting and holding Jackson chameleons.  Here on the island, we have lots of farmer’s markets.  We go to the Hawi one to share our homemade eats and treats and some of my artwork.  The best thing is meeting my friends and playing around the market!

I love it here on the Big Island living with my family and my chickens!

Aloha from Rachel.

2 thoughts on “The Big Island

Leave a comment